FAREWELL TO ANOTHER AMERICAN ICON

November 19, 2012  By Jack Jodell

The Hostess Company closed its doors for good on Friday, meaning that popular American products like Hostess Twinkies, Hostess CupCakes, Hostess Ho Hos, Hostess Ding Dongs, and even Wonder Bread will soon dusappear completely from the nation’s supermarket, gas station, and convenience store shelves. I fondly remember free-standing racks of this snack cake line from my early childhood. I believe for many years, the Twinkies and CupCakes were sold side by side, 2 pieces per cellophane-wrapped package, for a mere 12 cents. Though never particularly nutritious, both Wonder Bread and those vanilla creme-filled Hostess sanack cakes adorned countless millions of American school lunch boxes over a great many decades. Now, barring an unlikely resurrection by one or more other baking companies, they will soon vanish completely, to be relegated to our misty, nostalgic memory banks.

Hostess blamed a strike by its bakers union for its troubles, but the real reason was the company’s failure to keep up with the latest product marketing trends. For example, the company was very slow to introduce a healthier, more nutritious line of products, and when it did, was extremely limited and conservative in its marketing efforts. I remember as a child the Wonder Bread slogan of “Helps Build Strong Bodies 12 Ways!” being repeated endlessly in national TV ads and print media, but in recent years, advertising and promotions for the entire product line all but dried up.  Undoubtedly, the current strike had its impact on the company, but once again, its workers were made the scapegoat, as last year, despite having declared bankruptcy in 2009, the companiy’s board of directors approved pay increases of a whopping 80% for themselves! Now 18,000 of its workers will permanently lose their jobs, and American consumers will sadly lose the opportunity to buy a number of much-beloved products. Perhaps had these parties been a bit more keen to put some of these monies into a solid strategic marketing program, this collapse could have been avoided altogether!

These products, many of which had their origins as early as the 1920s, will simply cease to exist in the United States. Many will still be available in Canada, and perhaps even Mexico, under differing licensing arrangements. Let us hope that some enterprising American baking company will take a stab at resurrecting some of these American icons, or that Hostess / Wonder delivery truck will vanish from the roads of this country forever!


About jackjodell53

I am an American Dissident trapped in a country where poor and middle class people are constantly being exploited and lied to by a very rigid and conservative plutocratic elite. I believe in government OF, FOR, and BY the people, not one controlled as it now is by corporations and special interests.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to FAREWELL TO ANOTHER AMERICAN ICON

  1. I guess they were not all that popular!

    • jackjodell53 says:

      Not true, my good man. Sometimes even American icons disappear due to factors not related to their popularity, but rather due to mismanagement and changing market conditions. Less than 30 years ago, K-Mart, for example, was the nation’s top retailer, having overtaken Sears for a short time. Both of their houses of cards came tumbling down disastrously in recent years… And who would have ever predicted the demise of drive-in theaters, which were the rage in the 1950s-1970s?…

  2. Mike says:

    Jack, I believe the Twinkies-making division of Hostess will find a buyer and Twinkies will be around years from now. Same with Wonder Bread, probably.
    The anti-union lies from Hostess were just hateful.

    • jackjodell53 says:

      Mike,
      I hope you are right. Not so much because I like the products (I myself am rather ambivalent about them), but because I hate to see such icons die. You’re right about Hostess and their anti-union statements.

  3. Bimbo Bread is courting– you can bet they’ll be buying (cheap!) I commented on a Facebook post that somebody had about this, and riled up one of those morons that throws out statements with absolutely no backup. Luckily, I am learning to quit talking to walls and blocked the self-righteous ass. I found your blog by accident following a link about Darrell Issa….and want to follow…however I hate stuff in my inbox. are you on Facebook or do you have an RSS feed? Thanks, Denise

    • jackjodell53 says:

      Hi Denise. Thank you for stopping by and expressing your interest. I HATE Facebook and refuse to use it, because each time I log onto it, for many days my inbox is pelted with dozens of nonsensical “friend requests”from people I do not know and don’t have any desire to know. I am not standoffish or antisocial, but I very much resent Facebook using me and others as marketing tools in that manner. If they were less aggressive in their marketing, I might be tempted to use them more often.

      Please forgive my ignorance, but what exactly is an RSS feed? Perhaps if I knew I could use it. Thank you.

  4. Because the world needs Twinkies, I refuse to hang up my spurs.
    http://twinkie4hire.com/

  5. jackjodell53 says:

    Thank you, Jerry!

  6. Max's Dad says:

    Part of the bankruptcy petition included paying out bonuses to execs before liquidation, but the judge said you guys need mediation. So hopefully a mediator can put a stop to this insanity of no more Twinkies, Ding Dongs or Ho Hos! And no Fox News, it’s not the union’s fault.

  7. jackjodell53 says:

    Thank you very much for sending that link, Jerry. I will repost it on my blog Thanksgiving Day. THOSE GREEDY BASTARDS!!!

Leave a Reply

