GOOD READING YOU MUST NOT MISS! (Part One)

By Jack Jodell, October 26, 2011

I have been an active member of the blogosphere for only the past 3 + years, but in that time I have been pleasantly astounded and continually enlightened by the quality of progressive writing found in this realm. I often marvel at the depth of thought and great attention to detail that I have seen at other blogsites. Some of the blogs I visit regularly are humorous; some are angry; many are passionate. But nearly all share a deeply-held frustration with the status quo and are dedicated to seeing a measurable and beneficial change in the American political system. Intermittently, then, I will feature information on various sites I have found to be of great interest for the progressive reader. I begin today with a listing of several sites which I would strongly recommend you also stop by at from time to time. I list these randomly and without preference, as ALL of them featured in this series are definitely worth a read!

First and foremost, I would like to offer a tribute to my old friend BURR DEMING, whose superb writing can be viewed almost daily at the fine blog FAIR AND UNBALANCED (http://fairandunbalanced.com/).  Mr. Deming’s articles are always well-researched and well-reasoned, with a pervasive logic that is nearly impossible to refute. This is a thoughtful and very articulate man who has a great sense of conscience. He has crafted an exceptional thinking-person’s blog. Burr was a very early supporter of mine who encouraged me greatly, and I began to follow him almost immediately. You should too, as your life with be enriched by his tremendous insights! 

Next comes GWENDOLYN H. BARRY’s superb  A NEW GLOBAL MYTH   (http://newglobalmyth.nlogspot.com/). Here is a passionate and highly dedicated woman who is an unabashed liberal fighting always for decency, economic justice, environmental concerns, and basic common sense in our political and economic lives. She is one of the consistent contributing writers for the blog Roundtree7 (see my next entry below).  Gwen even hosts (often with yours truly) the extrairdinary all liberal talk radio program called HERE BE MONSTERS (http://www.blogtalkradio,com/here-be-monsters) each Sunday from 6-7 PM Eastern time. ALL liberals and progressives are invited to dial in at 213-816-0357 and give us your input on the latest events dealing with liberal progression and corporate regression. During the duration of the Wall Street occupation, this show can also be heard DAILY between 4-6 PM. It is a highly recommended method to blend a new planetary consciousness!

ROUNDTREE7http://www.roundtree7.com/) is the creation of a very gifted writer from Oklahoma by the name of DAVID WILLIAMS (aka Krell).  Here, the brilliant Mr. Williams consistently provides us with well-researched and often little known topics from the world of politics and economics, but he has also assembled a staff of fine liberal contributors to submit informational and provocative articles on a twice-daily basis. These writers include not only the aforementioned Gwen Barry and myself, but also AL OSORI, who often writes sensitively and intelligently about the impact of white America on various minorities and indigenous peoples globally; MIKE STIMPSON, a superbly talented author from Winnipeg, Canada, who gives a unique Canadian perspective on the follies of American politicians;  DUSTY, HELLS MOST VOCAL BITCH, who provides us with meaningful and FACTUAL rants about topics of the day, and a number of others as well. This is one blog that should be on your most frequently visited sites list! 

TomCat, the creator of the fabulous blog POLITICS PLUS (http://www.politicsplus.org/) daily blesses us with a three or four piece vignette on relevant topics. He has deservedly built up  quite a worldwide following with his relentless hard work and research, and the conclusions he reaches are always well-reasoned and sound. He is a selfless promoter of liberal causes and often volunteers to aid prison inmates. DO NOT OVERLOOK THIS FINE GEM!

MANIFESTO JOE, an underground writer living in Texas, presents us with original insights and omtelligent observations in his blog MANIFESTO JOE’S TEXAS BLUES (http://manifestojoestexasblues.blogspot.com/). Joe gives us interesting behind the scenes views into both Texas and national politics, and is an accomplished writer whose articles have appeared in USA Today, both CNN and Reuters Online, and numerous other publications, both mainstream and underground. This is one author’s blog which is not to be overlooked!

Also from Texas, and hopelessly surrounded by hardcore, ignorant community of conservative Republicans just like Manifesto Joe, is MARC  McDONALD and his outstanding blog BEGGARS CAN BE CHOOSERS (http://www.beggarscanbechoosers.com/). A longtime Texas journalist who once worked for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Marc’s progressive articles have prompted reviews in a number of venues, among them CBS, The Washington Post, CNN, the BBC, USA Today, Crooks and Liars, and Headline News, among many others. Provocative and well-researched, you can always count on Marc to give some important food for thought. Two recent pieces by him, for example, were entitled “Bush Was Greater Force for Evil in the World than Gadafi Ever Was” and “Steve Jobs Represented Much of What’s Wrong with the US Economy Today.” Need I say more? CHECK HIM OUT! 

S.W. ANDERSON of OH!PINION (http://ohpblog.ohpinion.com/) is always a treat to read in that his work is  well thought-out and very factual. Wise, expertly calculated conclusions are in abundance at this site, so it, too, should become one of your most fequently viewed destinations!

Who would have ever thought an 87 year YOUNG lady would produce a masterful political blog on a frequent basis? Well, DARLENE of DARLENE’S HODGEPODGE (http://www.darleneshodgepodge.blogspot.com/) does  just that! While not always writing about politics, when she does she blesses us with her abundant common sense, her concern for others, and her many years of practical experience. She is a true treasure and I would suggest you visit her often, as I do!

These are but a few of the sites I am highly recommending to you. In my next installment, I will describe the outstanding work found consistently at the sites RANDOM THOUGHTS, PLUTOCRAP, DAVE DUBYA’s FREEDOM RANTS, TRUTH SHALL RULE, MAN WITH THE MUCKRAKE, ENGINEER OF KNOWLEDGE, CRITTER’S CRAP, and a number of others, in subsequent posts. We progressives can take great comfort in knowing that many others share our basic outlook, even if we sometimes disagree slightly on specifics. I only hope that my own work will always measure up to that of these great writers and journalists!

About jackjodell53

I am an American Dissident trapped in a country where poor and middle class people are constantly being exploited and lied to by a very rigid and conservative plutocratic elite. I believe in government OF, FOR, and BY the people, not one controlled as it now is by corporations and special interests.
This entry was posted in commentary, economics, Politics, Progressives and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to GOOD READING YOU MUST NOT MISS! (Part One)

  1. Fantastic roundup of some fine sites. Thanks for including Oh!pinion; I’m humbled. I’m going to bookmark this post and try to get around to some of these as time permits.

    • jackjodell53 says:

      Thank YOU, S.W., for giving us such a consistently great site as OH!PINION!
      I think you’ll end up bookmarking ALL of the posts in this series, as the next two will also feature info on some outstanding blogs!

  2. Hi Jack, thank you very much for the kind words and for including my blog in the company of such worthies including your wonderful site. I look forward to exploring the other sites you mention in this article, as well as your upcoming pieces.

    • jackjodell53 says:

      Thank YOU for YOUR always fabulous blog, too, Marc! I’m sure you won’t be disappointed with the upcoming sites—they’re all equally fabulous! Keep on blasting away, my friend! :-)

  3. Darlene says:

    OMG, Jack, I am humbled by being included in such a wonderful group of writers. Thank you so very much for your kind words about my blog. I don’t really feel deserving, but I am flattered.

    Thank you, also, for the links to the other blogs. I will check them out soon. I always read your posts and find them well written and informative. Whether our posts are written daily, weekly or now-and-then, we need to keep plugging for fairness. don’t we? Perhaps we can influence one reader and they, in turn, can influence another. Maybe blogs are our cyberspace OWS.

  4. Darlene says:

    P. S. They say that you start bragging about your age after you reach 80 so I would like to let your mention that I am 87 stand, but I have to be honest. I an only 86. ;-)

    • jackjodell53 says:

      Darlene,
      Sorry about the age typo. And thank you for YOUR blog, too, which is more than deserving of mention here! I like what you said about our blogs being a cyberspace OWS—how very true! Keep on plugging, my friend—the world needs more who are dedicated to fairness, as you are!

  5. Great idea Jack…to tout these wonderful, intelligent writers among us. ;) Thank you for including my dippy, leftwing ass..yer making me blush so stop it! :lol:

    • jackjodell53 says:

      Dusty,
      I’m glad you liked the idea, and, as long as you continue your impassioned, leftist pursuit of economic justice and basic common sense, I’ll urge you to keep blogging and keep blushing! :-) Well done, m’lady!

  6. Burr Deming says:

    Thank you for your kind words, Jack.

  7. TomCat says:

    Thanks Jack. :-)\
    It’s an honor to be included in such fine company.

    • jackjodell53 says:

      Thank YOU, too, TomCat, not only for your fabulous blog but also for your decency and wonderful acts of volunteerism!

  8. You are very kind, sir. Very. You are such a gent. I’m most happy to work with many of these folks.. especially yourself. Especially. Hear you on Sunday my friend! :-)

  9. Krell says:

    Wow! Thanks for the kind words, Jack. I am honored to be included among such a fine group of dedicated writers, including yourself. Something in particular that comes to mind.. your “Great Progressive Voices” series was outstanding!

    • jackjodell53 says:

      And I thank YOU for all you have done and continue to do, David! In our continued disgust and depression over what far-right conservatives have done to this country, we sometimes forget the great contributions progressives have made to the nation since day one. In a sense, all of us lefty bloggers are continuing and preserving that tradition, each in our own way. Keep up the good work, my friend – we WILL prevail!

  10. SJ says:

    Aw shucks Jack. Thanks for the mention. I’m a big Manifesto Joe fan and TomCat fan myself. Gwen’s NGM blog should get an award. I’d also add your blog, always full of such decent humanist outrage, also Tom Degan’s The Rant is also one of my absolute favorites.
    Cheers Jack.
    -SJ

    • jackjodell53 says:

      Tanks, SJ! I’ll be covering YOUR fine blog in my next installment after Halloween, as well as the others I’ve mentioned, and I appreciate the heads up on Tom Degan’s site, which I’ll be sure to visit and check out.

  11. John Myste says:

    Two things come to mind:

    Firstly, Fair and Unbalanced is my favorite blog, by far. I am glad Burr Deming finally got the recognition he deserves.

    Secondly, OMG! He looks like St. Thomas Aquinas

    • jackjodell53 says:

      John.
      Burr is definitely well worth all the accolades he can get, and St. Thomas Aquinas was one of my favorites saints/writers/theologians/philosophers.

  12. John Myste says:

    OK, I had not been to Darlene’s Hodgepodge before, so I have been playing around on that site also and I like it.

  13. Darlene says:

    My head just became swollen two sizes. Thank you John and Jack.

  14. John Myste says:

    I hate to beat a dead horse, but there are two Burr Deming pieces (if that is who he really is), that are exceptional and I think should be used to introduce yourself to him. They are these:

    Bigotry’s Wide Stance

    What God Looks Like

  15. jackjodell53 says:

    John,
    I have known Burr and been commenting on Fair and Unbalanced since 2008. The horse is dead.

  16. John Myste says:

    Although I doubt you knew that he was once St. Thomas Aquinas, so I think you did learn something new about him.

  17. mudrake says:

    Great list, Jack. Thanks. I’m going to check out all of them to see how they tackle the major issues of the day [and the boneheads on the other side of the mountain!]

Leave a Reply

